one part travel, one part home, one part DIY, one place to create

an evening in the kitchen – pt. 2

It turns out my first batch of cold porcelain was no good. Like just about everything seen on Pinterest – easier said than done. But I wasn’t giving up just yet, I mean I had already dedicated a whole BOARD on Pinterest just for cold porcelain. So over the weekend I gave it a second shot and my dough turned out wonderfully. It actually looked like it was supposed to in the step by step tutorial pictures I was following online. Out came the rolling pin and cookie cutters to make the Christmas ornaments.

Now I’m experiencing another problem: the edges of the pieces curling up. I mean who is gonna want this?? Maybe someone who likes Pringles.

I’m thinking of ditching the ornaments idea and focusing on jewelry. Here is a preview of the one thing that HAS turned out good – ROSES! And you can see I even started experimenting with colors!

Since I finally DID something I saw on Pinterest (click here for my board about Cold Porcelain) I decided I’d join in the Pinterest Challenge Fall Edition over on YoungHouseLove and post my project!

8 responses

  1. oh my goodness I totaqlly want to do this! Where did you get the procelin? how how how!?! …and LOVE the pringles 😉

    November 2, 2011 at 12:18 pm

    • I used these instructions for making the cold porcelain paste and watched this video for making roses. I certainly didn’t get it right on the first try and am still having trouble with bigger pieces like ornaments curling up and having cracks (hence the Pringle shapes haha!) Thanks for viewing and commenting! 🙂

      November 2, 2011 at 12:29 pm

  2. Oh my gosh the earrings look wonderful! I’m about to start a couple of cold porcelain projects as well. I’m pretty excited about it. Hope it works… and hope you figure out the best recipe for you!

    November 2, 2011 at 8:20 pm

  3. Sarah (your sister)

    This is so cool!!! I’m expecting a christmas present 🙂

    November 3, 2011 at 11:50 am

  4. Jennie

    Very Impressed!! Love the roses…..

    November 4, 2011 at 6:56 am

  5. Brian

    I like pringles

    November 5, 2011 at 6:02 pm

  6. Suzie

    Hi,
    Did you ever figure out how to keep the edges of the circles from curling up?

    January 23, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    • Unfortunately I wasn’t able to figure out how to keep the edges from curling up. After two unsuccessful attempts I gave up the ornament idea, so I didn’t do too much research into how to prevent it. I have also read a lot about salt dough and people making ornaments with salt dough without any problems.

      January 24, 2012 at 8:21 am

Leave a Reply

