one part travel, one part home, one part DIY, one place to create

spray painters anonymous

A few weekends ago I went on a spray painting binge. Meaning: I bought quite a few colors of spray paint and went to town giving old things a new look. If there’s anything I’ve learned from YoungHouseLove and Pinterest it’s that you really can spray paint anything. Check out my multi-tasking skills:

For example, old candlestick holders? From brass to blue to stone. I picked blue first because it was something I normally wouldn’t pick so I thought it’d be a nice accent. Nope, I liked it less and less the longer they sat on the mantle. So on went a couple more coats (thin and even per Sherry @ YoungHouseLove) of stone instead, I’m much more pleased with that outcome.

Next up, picture frames. I’ve got plans for a big photo frame collage wall and have been collecting frames from thrift stores with plans to paint most of them. Who knows how long it’ll take to get the photo wall started, much less completed, with my reputation when it comes to projects.

Lastly, but most exciting, a hair barrette. For a year I’ve been searching high and low for a metal feather-shaped hair clip. I found one on Etsy that was just perfect and only $5. The only problem, it was a strange metallic green color. Nothing spray paint can’t fixed. At last, I’ve got a beautiful oil-rubbed bronze barrette!

2 responses

  1. Jennie

    I like the stone color much better than that blue you had. I guess it just really didn’t match with your other decor in your room. I’ll have to remember about the spray painting…it really makes a difference. Love how you are so creative!!!

    October 16, 2011 at 9:41 am

  2. Sarah

    Lookin good!!!! TIme to make me some stuff 🙂

    October 25, 2011 at 10:52 am

Leave a Reply

