one part travel, one part home, one part DIY, one place to create

babies need stuff.. HOMEMADE stuff!

As I’m sure all of my 2 dedicated readers know that my brother and his wife Jennifer are expecting a baby girl this June! [check out their blog for all kinds of baby posts] With less than 6 weeks to go they have been showered with lots of love and present for baby P. Since this blog is partially dedicated to DIY projects and crafts, I just had to share some of the things I’ve made for my soon to be niece.

The week I found out they were expecting, I immediately ran to the craft store and bought lots of red and white yarn. A couple years ago I crocheted an NC State afghan for Brian’s birthday (also made one for dad too), knowing that one day I’d crochet a matching baby sized one when they finally decided it was baby time. So I modified my existing pattern to make a smaller sized blanket and of course add some cute girly ruffles to the edging. I can gladly share a tutorial of the stitches I used and designed a pattern if anyone is actually interested, or would be glad to make one for you through my Etsy store! [Of course I can design one for any alma mater, although of course the Wolfpack would be my team of choice.]

Here she is, the finished product:

At Jennifer’s first shower with lots of lovely ladies from Mosaic she received quite a few adorable handmade gifts. After this I knew I had to up my game for the next shower because I’m the creative, crafty aunt so I’ve got to make something awesome. That left me about a month and a half to whip up this little number:

Sarah and I (yay aunts!!) hosted a shower for Jennifer for family and friends and I was given the task of invitations. Using my drawing and computer skills I designed some lovely invites (seen in the pictures with the cupcakes – design says “baby P is on her way”) and did some at home printing on a card/envelope combo pack from Michaels. I also designed notes to tie onto our party favors and letters for everyone to fill out with their “wishes for baby” to put into an album for Jennifer, Brian, and soon-to-be baby Clara to remember.

Sarah and I (with a little help from mom) made a diaper cake! No, this is not a cake in the shape of a diaper. Or a cake that smells like diapers (thank goodness). It is a pretend cake made out of diapers and baby accessories. After watching some youtube demos and googling lots of diaper cake ideas we spent one Saturday morning “baking” this cake:

Looking forward to many more years to come of making things for baby P! Oh, and here’s a few more shots from the shower this past Saturday at mom’s house.

4 responses

  1. Jennie

    Megan, how did you become so creative!! You did a wonderful job hosting and preparing for Jennifer’s shower!! Everything looked GREAT! You’re the BEST!

    May 11, 2011 at 6:56 am

  2. Brian

    great job! thanks for already being a great aunt. you know what i mean, not like someone’s older great aunt, but like a really good one. actually you do spend a lot of time crocheting, so maybe we’ll call you great aunt.

    sarah you’re pretty great too!

    May 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm

  3. Barbara Seago

    Your NC State blanket is gorgeous! Do your have a pattern for the full sized throw?

    May 17, 2012 at 2:53 pm

    • Thank you! I didn’t really follow a pattern for the blankets, I just made up my own thing by drawing out on graph paper to determine how many stitches I needed to do of each color to get the Block S to turn out right.

      May 17, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Leave a Reply

