one part travel, one part home, one part DIY, one place to create

my new blue gloves

Yesterday afternoon the sun finally came out and dried up some of the rain from these monsoons we’ve been having. I was planning on finishing painting some new interior doors (more details on that to come), but I realized my yard was in much more need of my attention. And when I got home from church the neighbors were out doing yard work and then I felt obligated to do the same. A few weeks ago I bought some new blue leather work gloves since my other two pairs now had holes in all the finger tips [I guess I’m a little to rough on them?] My front and back yard each have a giant pin oak tree. While I love them for the shade they provide, they make for some miserable leaf raking and stick picking up. The heavy winds we’ve had the past few weeks have done quite a number on all my tree branches and after only picking up most of the front yard I was left with this overflowing bundle of joy:

I finally mowed for the first time this season and since my front yard is seriously lacking on the grass it didn’t look TOO bad beforehand. The backyard, well that’s a whole nother story. I put this off for entirely too long. What else did I put off for too long? Raking and bagging the remainder of the leaves in the backyard [which don’t actually stop falling in my yard until January or February] and they were now buried amongst the nearly foot tall grass. Oh what a surprise that was for the lawnmower. So surprising that it cut off at least 10 times when it hit a pile of leaves that it couldn’t quite handle.

Unfortunately my lawnmower doesn’t have a bag, which normally isn’t an issue for the clippings to just stay on the ground. But since the backyard now had a foot of grass clippings AND chopped up leaves, mmm well that didn’t quite look very good. And did I mention lots of these leaves were soaking wet? Perfect. I decided it was going to be necessary to now rake and bag all of this up since the piles of old wet leaves were killing my grass. I guess this is what I get for procrastination? I was insistent on completing all of this raking and bagging before the day was over. The sun wasn’t on my side. So I busted out my headlamp and worked outside until almost 9pm to finish the job.

I was relieved and happy when it was done. My hands, however, did not feel the same way. I’m now regretting buying those new blue gloves because I still got blisters and they left my fingers looking a little something like this:

At least it all washed off after 15 minutes of scrubbing. Yet another reason why I dislike the color blue.

One response

  1. Jennie

    Sounds like you had a busy day!! Isn’t it nice to get things accomplished…good way to finish a weekend and began a new week. Sorry about your blisters and blue fingers.

    April 11, 2011 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

