one part travel, one part home, one part DIY, one place to create

Hello world!

Well I decided to start a blog; obviously you already figured that out since you’re here reading. So, welcome! to STUDIO{1859} ! You might be asking yourself, what exactly is this blog? In the words of Mrs. Jennifer Patnode – “only pregnant people have blogs”. Well no, I’m certainly not pregnant. I just finally decided to make a space to share all of my travel stories, home renovation projects, and crafty ideas. Also, one of my goals for 2011 has been to open a store on Etsy, which I’m in the process of doing now. And I thought, I may as well start a blog in parallel with that.

I guess my main reason why I haven’t already created an Etsy store or blog is because I couldn’t think of a cool name. A cool name is apparently a requirement for blogging. The creative juices have been flowing the past few months and I find myself stopping in the middle of things to make a note of something I want to make or do.  And it seems that I have a lot more to say about things than I used to think I did.  I find this true because I interrupted Dave and Nia a few too many times during our trip to Europe and awoke Nia too often during the drive to Boston while she tried to nap to say things like “look at those birds, how are they flying in this much wind!”

What does the name mean? This is me trying to be creative with words (which is where I’m least creative in life) – it may not seem original, but to me it is. Why studio? The studio is where one creates. I like to create, “to craft.” Over the years I’ve tried my hand at crocheting, sewing, cross-stitch, photography, beads + jewelry making, hand-making gifts, painting, scrapbooking, homemade magnets and picture frames, to name a few. Sometimes I failed and sometimes I was pretty good and some I decided I should probably never try again. But how will I use this blog to create? I want to create memories for myself of trips I’ve been on and plan to go on, create inspiration for other do-it-yourself-ers, and create a lot of laughs with stories of things that didn’t go quite as planned.

1859 is a special number to me.  1859 is where I create. 1859 is where I learned to install light fixtures and put together at least 6 pieces of IKEA furniture solo. 1859 is where I’ve started more home improvement projects than I’ve finished. 1859 is the place I seeded my front yard in the spring and watched it fail over the hot summer because I was too stubborn to wait until fall, the proper seeding season. 1859 is the number written on the front of my house. 1859 is where I can’t wait to open the door at the end of every travel adventure. 1859 is my home.

2 responses

  1. Brian

    welcome to the blogosphere. looking forward to your travel stories and craftiness.

    March 23, 2011 at 7:35 am

  2. Cathy

    Go Megan! I love it!

    March 23, 2011 at 9:51 pm

Leave a Reply

